• image

The Sioux Nation Pictograph Symbols – Infographic

The Sioux nation consists of the Dakota, Lakota, and Nakota Indian tribes. Each tribe is divided into subdivisions, 14 in all.

They once hunted and roamed free across the lands where modern-day Wisconsin, Minnesota,Iowa, North and South Dakota, and Nebraska are.

A proud peoples, they were known for their fierce war-like abilities. In an attempt to keep their land and way of life, some of the Sioux tribes were involved in many wars .

As European settlers moved into their lands, they eventually were forced to live on designated reservations.

This infographic presents some of the Sioux pictograph symbols/signs and their meanings:

  • Antelope
  • Buffalo
  • Bad
  • Council
  • Death
  • Cheyenne
  • Cold, Snowy Weather
  • Blanket
  • Big Voice
  • Indian Camp
  • Corn – Plenty
  • Headless Bodies
  • Blanket


Sioux Nation Pictographs Meanings






























Feel free to share this infographic about the Sioux Nation!

About the Author


Curious about historical events, people and places - I love to learn and share the stories I find with others.

Leave a Reply